Tuesday, December 7, 2010

Torrent id: 223030

* หน่าย Jazzy Morning * Blue Mitchell - Blue's Moods (1960) (Remastered 2007)

Blue Mitchell - Blue's Moods (1960) (Remastered 2007)
Jazz | EAC rip | FLAC + CUE + LOG | Full Scans | 275 Mb
Label ~ Riverside


One of the biggest challenges for a musician is to front a quartet. There's no one to hide behind. For Richard "Blue" Mitchell, Blue's Moods was his debut as the lone horn player. In the earlier part of his career, Blue was strongly self-critical, always concerned that he wasn't living up to his (self-perceived) potential. His last effort, Blue Soul was a turning point for him. Three of the cuts on Blue Soul were quartet numbers, giving him the chance to show his newly found musical maturity and confidence. Blue's Moods builds on the same sound heard on Blue Soul, and takes it to the next level.
The songs on this album cover a wide range of feelings and tempos, hence the name Blue's Moods instead of Blue's Mood. Mitchell slips right into the groove on "I'll Close My Eyes." and never looks back. The rhythm section on these sessions–Wynton Kelly (piano), Sam Jones (bass) and Roy Brooks (drums)–is outstanding. As you listen to these tracks, it's readily apparent that this wasn't just a one-off thing. Kelly and Jones both get to stretch out a bit on the lightly swinging "Avars." One of the best cuts here is the superb rendition of Charlie Parker's "Scrapple From the Apple." This may be Blue's date, but the trio really stands out on this one.

Tracks List

1. I'll Close My Eyes
2. Avars
3. Scrapple from the Apple
4. Kinda Vague
5. Sir John
6. When I Fall in Love
7. Sweet Pumpkin
8. I Wish I Knew


No comments: